

## Research, Scholarly Activity, and Innovation Section February 12, 2025, Meeting Minutes

Dr. Hao Wang, RSI Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:00 am CT on February 12, 2025, and welcomed everybody to the February meeting. Members in attendance and were introduced and welcomed. Participants: Hao Wang, Mike Makutonin, Melanie Molina, Josh Davis, James Paxton, Justin Belsky, Robert Welch, Charles Kemmler, Martin Wegman, Dana Mathew, Cynthia Singh, Phillip Jarrett, Marla Payne.

The last meeting of the section was held on December 11, 2024. December meeting minutes were reviewed with members in attendance. Dr. Mike Makutonin made a motion to approve the December meeting minutes and Dr. Charles Kemmler seconded the motion.

Dr. Melanie Molina, UCSF, presented a request to post a quality study on social determinants on the RSI engagED platform. The members in attendance discussed and approved her request and the survey was posted to the platform.

Dr. Hao Wang provided an update on discussions regarding a future "hackathon" program allowing groups to present ideas for research under a chosen topic. He proposed sending a survey to members with three selected topics.

Dr. Wang discussed formulating a survey to send to research fellowship programs to determine academic success in conducting research after the completion of a fellowship program. He reviewed a ten-question survey with members present at the meeting and requested their input. Dr. Michael Makutonin suggested partnering with EMRA on this project. Dr. Wang will be sending a draft of the survey questions to those members who attended the meeting.

Dr. James Paxton provided an update on the Journal Club Primer and advised that the content should be completed in the next two months, with publication to coincide with ACEP25.

Dr. Charles Kemmler requested suggestions for new resolutions.

RSI Meetings are held every 2 months on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Wednesday of the month for the 2024-2025 academic year.

Meeting dates for future meetings is listed below for 2025:

April 9, 2025 @ 11:00 AM EST June 11, 2025 @ 11:00 AM EST August 13, 2025 @ 11:00 EST September 8, 2025 @ 12:30 PM MT – Salt Lake City, UT



## **RSI Objectives**

- Serve as a resource to the Board and the College regarding emergency medicine research.
- Stimulate and encourage quality research in emergency medicine.
- Promote education relating to research methodology, for the Section of the College.
- Provide a forum for communication among researchers within the College, and to encourage that communication.
- Promote collaboration among researchers in emergency medicine and related fields, to advance the specialty.
- Serve as a resource regarding research training programs in emergency medicine.

## The RSI Section Leadership for 2024-2025 and their emails are:

- Chair = Hao Wang, MD
- Chair-Elect = Open
- Immediate Past Chair = <u>James Paxton</u>, <u>MD</u>
- Secretary / Newsletter Editor = <u>Carol Clark, MD</u>
- Councilor (2024-2025) = Charles Kemmler, MD
- Alternate Councilor (2024-2025) = <u>Joshua Davis, MD</u>
- EMRA Representative = Charles Sanky, MD
- Board Liaison = Gabe Kelen, MD
- Staff Liaison = Martin Wegman, MD PhD
- ACEP Grants & Research Manager = Marla Payne

## Section Email is below:

 $\underline{ACEP\_research scholarly activity and innovation section @Connected Community.org}$