American College of Emergency Physicians **Tactical and Law Enforcement Medicine Section Meeting** *ACEP24* September 29, 2024 MINUTES

THESE MINUTES WERE APPROVED BY THE SECTION CHAIR AND ARE PENDING APPROVAL BY THE TACTICAL AND LAW ENFORCEMENT MEDICINE SECTION AT THE ACEP25 MEETING. ANY CHANGES WILL APPEAR IN THE MINUTES OF THAT MEETING.

Participants

Section members participating for all or part of the meeting included: John Wipfler, MD, Brian Springer, MD, FACEP, Keegan Bradley, MD, FAWM, FACEP, Dominique Wong, MD, Jeremy Ackerman, MD, FACEP, James Waymack, MD, FACEP

Others participating for all or part of the meeting included: John Shecter, MD, Gavin Eysler, Chris Sampson, MD, Dev Dhillon, MD, Jay Ladde, MD, JV Roa, MD, Steven Andrews, MD, Eric Kretz, MD, Sean Caffyn, DO, Lincoln Brown, MD, Sriram Venkatesan, MD, FAWM, Eligio Maghirang, MD, Jeffrey Goodloe, MD, FACEP, Board liaison; George Solomon, MHS, FP-C, CCP-C, TP-C, Staff Liaison

Agenda

I.	Opening Remarks and Introductions	Brian Springer MD, FACEP
II.	 Section Business a. Ballots i. Non-ACEP Member Subscription Package ii. Section Officers for 2024-2026 b. Board Liaison Update c. Council Update d. Secretary Report e. Newsletter Editor 	Jeffrey Goodloe, MD, FACEP James Waymack, MD, FACEP Dominique Wong, MD Jeremy Ackerman, MD, PhD, FACEP
III. Sponsor Presentation by Teleflex		
IV.	 Award Presentation a. Tactical Medicine Visionary Award: Richard B. Schwartz, MD, FACEP b. TALEM Section Exemplary Service Award: Deanna Harper c. TALEM Section Meritorious Service Award: Adam Finseth 	
V.	Keynote Presentation	Richard B. Schwartz, MD, FACEP
VI.	. "Tricks of the Trade for TALEM Personnel" Presentation	John Wipfler
VII	I. Transfer of Leadership	Brian Springer/Keegan Bradley
VIII. Chairman 2023-2025 Strategic Goals and Vision Presentation by: Keegan Bradley, MD, FACEP, FAEMS, FAWM		

- IX. Questions/Comments/Reports from the Floor
- X. Adjourn

Points Discussed

Dr. Springer welcomed everyone to the meeting and went through introductions of the leadership team

This year there were two ballots held during the meeting:

- 1. Non-ACEP Member Subscription Package vote passed to allow Non-ACEP members access to purchase a Section Subscription Package for Tactical and Law Enforcement Medicine Section
- It was this Section's year to do elections for Chair-Elect, Secretary and Alternative Councillor. Changes in leadership positions: Brian Springer, MD, FACEP, is now the Immediate Past Chair, Keegan Bradley, MD, FAWM, FACEP is now the Chair, Dominique Wong, MD is now the Chair-Elect, and Jeremy Ackerman is now the Secretary

Following the results of the ballots, we then went into leadership reports from Jeffrey Goodloe, MD, FACEP, James Waymack, MD, FACEP, Dominique Wong, MD, and Jeremy Ackerman, MD, PhD, FACEP.

The TALEM Section gave out three awards during the meeting:

- 1. Tactical Medicine Visionary Award to Richard B. Schwartz, MD, FACEP
- 2. TALEM Section Exemplary Service Award to Deanna Harper
- 3. TALEM Section Meritorious Service Award to Adam Finseth

Richard Schwartz, MD, FACEP was unable to attend

John Wipfler, MD gave a presentation on "Tricks of the Trade for TALEM Personnel"

Transfer of Leadership between Outgoing Chair, Brian Springer, MD, FACEP, and Incoming Chair, Keegan Bradley, MD, FAWM, FACEP.

Due to time constraints, Dr. Keegan Bradley was unable to present their 2023-2025 Strategic Goals and Vision presentation. This will be posted in the Newsroom and on engagED in the next few weeks.

With no more business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.